The scientific committees of the Polish Academy of Sciences are self-governing, nationwide representation of various scientific disciplines and interdisciplinary scientific problems, cooperating with the departments of the Polish Academy of Sciences, aimed to integrate scientists all over the country. The national scientific committees include members of the Polish Academy of Sciences of respective specialties, eminent academics representing higher education institutions, Polish Academy of Sciences institutes and other research institutes, as well as representatives of economic and social institutions and organizations. Because of its composition, consisting of prominent representatives of the entire scientific community, scientific committees of the Polish Academy of Sciences are the most representative group of specialists in a particular discipline.

The Forest Sciences and Wood Technology Committee was established in 2016 and deals with all the issues related to forestry and wood technology sciences and (jointly with the Forest Research Institute) publishes an English quarterly magazine "Folia Forestalia Polonica", which is indexed by Copernicus and the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education. The Committee also serves as the Polish National Committee, cooperating with the International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO). The Chairman of this committee is prof. Maciej Skorupski from the Forestry Faculty of the Poznan University of Life Sciences.